Information technology is getting very sophisticated, especially pertaining to gathering information about you while you are driving. The police can run you plates instantly and find out if you are up-to-date with your auto insurance. Driving without auto insurance may lead to a ticket and possibly getting your car impounded.
Law Offices of John Knappmann website is under copyright 2015 all rights reserved
The following information is the Michigan point system (we periodically revise our legal information as laws and regulations do ever change).
10 mph or less over the legal speed limit.
Open alcohol container in vehicle.
All other moving violations of traffic laws.
Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21.
Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing.
11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit.
Failure to stop at railroad crossing.
Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard
Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content.
16 mph or more over the legal speed limit.
Failure to yield/show due caution for emergency vehicles.
Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle.
Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs.
Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash.
Unlawful bodily alcohol content of 0.08 or more.
Refusal to take a chemical test.
Fleeing or eluding a police officer.
*Please note that snowmobile and off-road vehicle (ORV) alcohol-conviction points are placed on a driver record and may result in licensing action against your driving privileges even though the violation happened while operating a snowmobile or ORV.
Points placed on your driving record usually remain for two years from the date of conviction.
Auto insurance companies look at your driving record for traffic related infractions/tickets and accrued points. These points may result in a severe increase of your auto insurance premium for years.
If you believe that you were not guilty of the traffic ticket, and you want to fight the ticket, then you must be prepared to prove this when you go to court. (Appealing a court decision is more costly than going to court and having proper evidence and fighting the ticket initially. That is why having an attorney that specializes in this area represent you and know exactly how to win in your favor or have the charge reduced. In many cases from a financial perspective, it is worth hiring an attorney when you add up the years of increased insurance premiums that you may have to pay in a long term scenario.
DISCLAIMER: This entire website should be strictly used as informational purposes only. It is not to be construed as legal advise or as a legal consultation since each individual case is unique. Check this website periodically for updates.
You will have to pay court fines each time you are convicted for a traffic violation. In addition, points fo onto your drivers license record for traffic related infraction or accrued traffic related infractions. These points may result in a severe increase of you your auto insurance for years.
Under Michigan’s drivers license point system, each traffic violation has a point value, which is set by law in the Michigan Vehicle Code regulations. Points placed on your driver record usually remain on your driving record for two years from the date of conviction.
You will have to pay certain court fines each time you are convicted for a traffic violation. In addition, points fo onto your drivers license
Under Michigan’s drivers license point system, each traffic violation has a point value, which is set by law in the Michigan Vehicle Code laws.